What are the seven deadly sins?

0 votes
in Arts & Entertainment by
What are the seven deadly sins?

1 Answer

+1 vote
by (6.2k points)

The seven deadly sins, more properly called the seven capital sins, are sins that we are susceptible to due to our fallen human nature. Those are the tendencies that lead us to all other sins. They are called "fatal" because if we join them willingly, they deprive us of the Holy Spirit, the life of God in our soul.

What are the seven deadly sins?

The seven deadly sins are pride, greed (also called greed and greed), lust, anger, greed, jealousy, and lethargy.

1 Pride:

A sense of self-worth that is out of proportion to reality. Pride is commonly counted as one of the deadly sins, as it can lead to the commission of other sins to feed one's pride. Taken to the extreme, pride is also the result of rebellion against God, through the belief that all have to carry out their own efforts and not for the grace of God. Lucifer's fall from heaven was the result of his pride; Adam and Eve commit their sins in the Garden of Eden after appealing to Lucifer's pride.

2 Greed:

A strong desire for property, especially for a property that belongs to another, such as in the Ninth Commandment ("You shall not love your neighbor's wife") and the Tenth Commandment ("You shall covet your neighbor's goods" not done"). Although and avarice somewhere is sometimes used as a synonym, they both usually refer to an extreme desire for things that one can legitimately possess.

3 Lust:

The desire for sexual pleasure that is out of proportion to the good of sexual union or is directed to someone with whom one has no right to the sexual union is someone other than the spouse. It is possible that there is a lust towards one's spouse if his or her desire for it is selfish for the purpose of strengthening the marital life.

4 Envy:

the extreme desire for revenge. Whereas there is such a thing as "religious anger", which refers to the proper response to injustice or unrighteousness. Anger as one of the fatal sins may begin with a valid complaint, but it increases until it is out of proportion to the wrong done.

5 Gluttony:

Extreme desire, not for food and drink, but for the pleasure derived from eating and drinking. While gluttony is often associated with overeating, there is also gluttony of intoxication.

6 Wrath:

Grief over the good fortune of another, whether in property, success, virtue, or talent. Grief arises from the fact that the other person does not deserve good luck, but you do; And especially because of the sense that the good fortune of the other person has somehow deprived you of equally good fortune.

7 Sloth:

Laziness or sluggishness when faced with the effort required to perform a task. Sloth is sinful when one lets go of a necessary task (or when one does it badly) because one is not ready to make the necessary effort.